Winter weather

Hey,

Well with that lovely weather at the moment I felt it was about time I bought myself some winter gear. A good winter coat is essential in our Irish climate. There are so many gorgeous styles on offer at the moment. However, I’ve found them to be focused much more on looking fashionable than actually doing the job of keeping its owner warm. Take these two beautiful coats from River Island for example:

659894_main

658664_rollover

 

While I absolutely adore the boyfriend style of both coats, I couldn’t justify the price tag of €107 each for a winter coat that only has one button and doesn’t fully close. Autumn seems to get forgotten in Ireland as the weather gets very cold very quickly (it basically changes from summer to winter overnight). This means that these types of coats would require significant layering underneath to avoid frostbite.

Therefore, I decided to purchase a much more practical coat. I bought this coat on the Topshop website for €100 as it seemed to be sold out everywhere I looked. 

download

 

Like the River Island coats above, this coat has a slouch boyfriend style fit. However, it is made from wool and angora which will ensure warmth. The olive colour is a gorgeous muted tone for winter while still steering clear of dreaded grey and black.

I also decided to splurge (as usual) and treat myself to this beautiful trench coat from Zara for €80.

0518243707_6_1_1

 

A trench coat should be a staple in every wardrobe as it will never go out of fashion. This will be a super handy everyday coat and the tan colour will go with everything.

That’s enough money spent for this week!

Ashlinn ✿

 

Leave a Reply

